Website Home | Info & Posts | Club Membership | Eagle History | Contact Us

**** UPDATE: IMPORTANT NOTICE ****

The deactivation of the Eagles website and forum is now on hold.

#### The forum is availabe for reading and posting. ####

For background information click on this thread.

The forum is currently in low maintenance mode which means the "registration" and "contact us" options have been deactivated.

Jake Brake Lights

This is a public forum to discuss Eagle related technical issues. If you are having a problem with your Eagle, this is the place to find help.
Jake Brake Lights
Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:15 pm


Seen topic on another board and Clifford gave Jack Conrad an answer but I need a little more info.

Question #1
The parts from Del City:

Relay- With Diode was the part # 73986

Did you use the Pre-wired relay socket part #73570

Question #2
I want to tie into the buffer switch so which wire on the buffer switch do I tie into?

Question #3
The Pre-wired relay socket has four wires coming out of it,
2-Black
1-White
1-Green
What do I tie these wires into.

Thanks
JCB
Eagle
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: louisville, ky


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:29 pm


JCB, I didn't use the pre wired socket here's how mine is wired

terminal 1 to the buffer switch on the Jake side
2 ground
3 to a hot keyed supply
some relays use the # 5 instead of 4 that one goes to the lights
If you are just using 2 brake lights or LED's the 50 amp may be a overkill but I use the top and bottom for my brake lights

good luck
Clifford
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:40 pm


JCB, The relay wiring should be as follows: Terminai 85 is ground. Terminal 30 is power. terminal 86 is command (positive). Terminal 87 is normally open. And 87a is normally closed.

Good Luck Wayne
User avatar
rusty
Board Member
Board Member
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:22 pm
Location: Johnstown Co.


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:47 pm


Wayne, my dioed relay does not have those numbers just 1,2,3 and 5 guess that is what you get for 6 bucks huh


good luck
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:06 pm


Clifford, Can't help you there I only know the relays with the numbers I posted. Sorry about that.

Wayne

Ps I need to talk to you about a DDEC 4 I will call when I get some time.
User avatar
rusty
Board Member
Board Member
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:22 pm
Location: Johnstown Co.


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Fri Aug 28, 2009 3:34 pm


The relay that I am looking at from Del City has the numbers that Wayne posted. As I look into the engine compartment with my 6V92 there are 2 wire connections on the Buffer switch.
Which one do I tie into the left or right one? Does it connect to terminal #86?

Thanks guys

JC
Eagle
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: louisville, ky


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:20 pm


JC, how do want it to work power to lights with the Jake switch is turned on or power to the lights when the Jake are engaged.
Wayne will have to help on your numbers mine is on termnial 1 and only works when the mirco switch engages the Jakes.
Take a test, light turn your Jake switch on with out the engine runnnig one side will be hot and the other side going to the Jakes will not be till the buffer switch activates the Jakes


good luck
Clifford
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:27 pm


JCB, Make sure that the wire you run to 86 only has power when the jakes are working. If that wire is hot all the time the jakes are on then your brake lights will be on all the time. It must be hot only when the jakes are working.

Good Luck Wayne
User avatar
rusty
Board Member
Board Member
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:22 pm
Location: Johnstown Co.


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Sun Sep 06, 2009 1:53 pm


Update:

This is for a DD6V92TA with an Allison 740 Automatic transmission.


Wiring Jake brakes so as to have brake lights on when Jakes are in use.

This is for a 2 stage system: Switch on dash: OFF- LOW-HIGH
I used the following parts from DelCity: WWW.DelCity.net

2—Relays with/Diodes part #73986 Price $5.72 ea
2—Pre-Made relay wiring harnesses Part #73570 cost $1.50 ea
You could eliminate the wiring harness by using spade connectors and connect them directly to the relay terminals.

Terminal #85 or White wire is ---Ground

Terminal #30 or Black wire is----Positive or Hot I used the wire from the Buffer switch that is going to the switch on the dash where as it will only be hot when the ignition switch is in the on position.

Terminal #86 or Red wire is------The Command wires I connected one from each relay to one of the wires that goes to the Jake’s under each valve cover.

Terminal #87a or Green wire-----Goes to Brake lights

Terminal #87 or Blue wire--------Extra

The reason I used 2 Relays is so as not to activate the High or both sides when I only need one side of the Jakes activated. “LOW”.

They work great. When the RPM’s drop below 1200 the jakes kick out and the brake lights go off.

Thanks fellows for all of the help.
Eagle
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:36 pm
Location: louisville, ky


Re: Jake Brake Lights
Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:11 pm


JCB, thanks for the update I didn't hook mine up to the low side only the high side.
Del City is a good outfit to buy from for relays and other elec parts.
Glad you posted I am not very good at giving detailed information.
Now I am watching the BCM board to see how many say you did it wrong LOL

good luck
Clifford
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm


Next

Return to Eagle Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests



cron