Website Home | Info & Posts | Club Membership | Eagle History | Contact Us

**** UPDATE: IMPORTANT NOTICE ****

The deactivation of the Eagles website and forum is now on hold.

#### The forum is availabe for reading and posting. ####

For background information click on this thread.

The forum is currently in low maintenance mode which means the "registration" and "contact us" options have been deactivated.

Eagle VDO Air Pressure Gauge Sender ?

This is a public forum to discuss Eagle related technical issues. If you are having a problem with your Eagle, this is the place to find help.


Which sender is used for the VDO air pressure gauge with the Eagle Logo on it? I need to match the sender with two gauges I have. I assume the numbers on the back of the gauges would tell me, they are differant. The rear has a differant number than the front. I have looked on the net and I can't find out where to get any information. A part number would be great, Thanks.
Becky & Paul Lawry
Dreamscape
1968 Eagle 01 #7443
Silver 8V92 HT 740

Dreamscape Eagle Travel Blog: https://dreamscapetravels.wordpress.com/

Dreamscape Build Blog: https://dreamscapesilvereagle.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Dreamscape
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Full Timing - On The Road




Paul

If you talking about the Eagle model 20 air gauges for the front n rear brake system on the dash. 1 line of the gauge goes to service interlock and the other line goes to a pressure switch. To my knowledge it does not need a sending unit to measure the air pressure in the system. How about some other people's comments on this to make sure I am right???

Hope this helps

Duane
St. Louis, MO
89 Model 20
6v92TA DDEC II Allision HT 748R
eaglebus8920
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 5:01 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO




How is the gauge going to know what the pressure is without a sender? They work off reading ohms. A pressure switch is different, it has a set point of psi when it gets to that point, the contacts close and a signal is sent to a warning device.

I'm just not sure if the senders would be different because of distance the smoke has to travel.

Heck, I might just go manual and forget the little birdies on the gauge! :lol: They sure are cute though. ;) I'm sure it might be more accurate anyway, just plumb it and go.

Geeez, this is my anniversary! One month on the Eagles International site since I joined. Hot Dam :!:

HTH
Becky & Paul Lawry
Dreamscape
1968 Eagle 01 #7443
Silver 8V92 HT 740

Dreamscape Eagle Travel Blog: https://dreamscapetravels.wordpress.com/

Dreamscape Build Blog: https://dreamscapesilvereagle.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Dreamscape
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Full Timing - On The Road




mine too Paul,this is awesome no stress ,no poliitics,just eagles and good friendships.Man I'm glad we own an eagle,happy anniversary :D
van
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 1437
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:35 pm




I think our Eagle 20 gauge is different than what Paul is asking about. The Eagle 20 gauge is a single large gauge with two needles. I don't remember mine having an Eagle on it. The dual gauge works a little differently. One needle tells you your air pressure, and the other tells you the pressure going to the brakes when you press the pedal. I plan to change mine to the dual Eagle gauges at some point down the road.
Dale Houston
1993 Eagle 15-45
Nashville, TN
User avatar
Songman
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2107
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 1:48 am
Location: Nashville, TN




Mine are VDO and have the Eagle they are not electric but manual,Dan should have a parts number,I may be mistaken but I belive all VDO gauges us the same sender,as for smoke Paul can pick up a supply from any air line close to his gauge dosen't have to come from the air tank


Clifford
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm




Paul can you post a photo of your gauges, I have checked every parts books for Eagle I have and they all show 1/4 in tubing to the back of the gauge

Clifford
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm




Here ya go. I sure wish they had the 1/4" tube fitting, it sould make my life a lot easier and cheaper. :lol:

They are in the upper left.

Image

Upper right.

Image
Becky & Paul Lawry
Dreamscape
1968 Eagle 01 #7443
Silver 8V92 HT 740

Dreamscape Eagle Travel Blog: https://dreamscapetravels.wordpress.com/

Dreamscape Build Blog: https://dreamscapesilvereagle.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Dreamscape
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Full Timing - On The Road




I give up on this Paul, check with Dan the manual gauges maybe cheaper than the sender Clifford
User avatar
luvrbus
Club Member
Club Member
 
Posts: 2945
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm




Thanks Clifford,

I figure if you don't know then who does? :lol:

I'm leaning to go with manual type anyway, it would be easier and more of an accurate reading. I hate it that I won't use the little birdie gauges though! ;) I won't tell you what I paid for the cluster! :oops:

I have one white face with a dual needle that I might use for now, then when I turn it into a dual system add another one.

Heck, I would trade the whole works for an oil pressure elec. gauge with an Eagle on it! ;)
Becky & Paul Lawry
Dreamscape
1968 Eagle 01 #7443
Silver 8V92 HT 740

Dreamscape Eagle Travel Blog: https://dreamscapetravels.wordpress.com/

Dreamscape Build Blog: https://dreamscapesilvereagle.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Dreamscape
 
Posts: 3032
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: Full Timing - On The Road


Next

Return to Eagle Tech

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests



cron